Teaching beginners

Teaching beginners

by Rachel Cook -
Number of replies: 7

Use this forum thread to share your experiences of teaching beginners.  

We expect everyone to abide by ABRSM's Netiquette Policy (etiquette on the Net).  Feel free to discuss repertoire, technique, troubleshoot  teaching concerns or share positive news. 

In reply to Rachel Cook

How to choose repertoire that develops students’ general musicianship?

by Chak Lai Li -
Hi folks! It is my first time sharing my thoughts here. I am a Private music studio teacher and teach applied violin, viola, and conduct orchestras at different schools. I have a habit I brainstorm a question weekly and writing down some notes and points. This week I am going to think about the relationship between repertoire and students' musicianship. Feel free to share your thoughts with me here!

• Covering different styles of music and various musical periods
    • In traditional instrumental/vocal music learning, the repertoire is usually Eurocentric and resides in Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and 20th-century periods
    • Besides famous repertoire, we encourage teachers to seek different historical and cultural styles
    • Historical Styles
      • Medieval
      • Renaissance
      • Baroque
      • Classical
      • Romantic
      • 20th century
      • 21st century
    • Cultural Styles
      • American
      • European
      • Latin American
      • Asian
      • African
      • Middle Eastern
      • etc.
  • Different age ranges and temperaments
    • Different age ranges of students have different life experiences
    • Teachers should consider their temperaments when selecting repertoire for each student
    • Avoid “one-size(piece)-fit-all” approach
  • Finding imaginative and attractive pieces
    • Programming music by a great composer presents the opportunity to learn about the life and work of a great artist